Executive Director
Phone: 218-748-7651
Email: rams@ramsmn.org

New bridge at night photo by P Pluswick

RAMS visit to Minntac with State Legislatures 2021

RAMS visits Cliffs Toledo Facility 2021

Tom Rukavina at rally prior to MPCA hearing at MCC

Moon over Queen City photo created by Matt Herberg

RAMS hearing 1940


RAMS meets with Congressman Stauber in DC 2021

Kawishiwi Falls - Ely MN photo by Adrian Koski 2016

RAMS DC Delegation visit 2021 on land withdrawal

Hwy 53 bridge Nov 2016 photo by F Luomanen

Itasca Ski Hill

RAMS Board Members with State Legislatures 2022

Mayor Rick Cannata Wild RIce/Sulfate rally

2016 Press conference on US Forest Service - Virginia, MN

Pike Bay Marina Lake Vermilion

RAMS meets with Range Legislators

On Tuesday, February 22, 2022, board members and Executive Director Ida Rukavina of the Range Association of Municipalities and Schools (RAMS) traveled to Saint Paul to meet with Iron Range legislators to discuss their legislative priorities for the 2022 session. RAMS has been advocating for cities, schools, and townships across the Iron Range for over 80 years at the state and federal level. A robust conversation was held about the priorities that RAMS is advocating for including increased funding for K-12 education, bonding projects that would support numerous communities’ infrastructure needs, broadband funding so that all of our northern residents have access to highspeed internet, as well as a host of other projects such as trails, local government aid, mental health access and township roads and bridges. RAMS reiterated their position opposing any legislation that would restrict the exploration or possible development of nonferrous mining in the region as well as support for the iron ore industry. RAMS also acknowledged the combined decades of service and support of our region from recently announced upcoming retiring legislators State Senator David Tomassoni and State Representative Dale Lueck.


RAMS members in attendance: Cyndi Worshak, President of RAMS and Mesabi East School Board; Paul Kess, Ely City Council; Stacey Scholz, Rock Ridge School Board; Reggie Engebritson, Superintendent of Mt. Iron/Buhl School District and St. Louis County Schools; and Ida Rukavina, executive director of RAMS.

Range Legislators: State Representative Julie Sandstede, State Representative Rob Ecklund, State Representative Dave Lislegard, State Senator Tom Bakk, State Senator Justin Eichorn, State Representative Spencer Igo and State Representative Dale Lueck.